About Links

We believe good English and efficient desktop are shortcuts to success.
It is not exaggerating to say they are an inseparable part of a wonderful life!
To share our success, we Linkers are working tirelessly around the globe, around the clock!
We are English fans!
We are efficient desktop geeks!

The Story of Links
Links English is your passport to an exciting life.
Links Desktop is your guide to an existence full of colors and interest.

Jing is a partner at Links.
From a penniless Chinese student in America to owner of a financial management firm, she is the real life heroine of the movie “Pursuit of Happiness”.It was before China went through its economic transformation that Jing decided to pursue further studies in America. At that time, her family was unable to offer her any financial assistance. Armed with a near perfect TOEFL score, she left the country with only $500 she scrambled together. She worked three jobs to support herself while in school in US: a library assistant, a teaching assistant and a waitress. Once, while driving, she dozed off due to exhaustion. She crashed her car. It was in the hospital that she realized she had neither medical insurance nor cash to pay for the medical bill. But crisis like this did not crash her. She received not only a MBA degree, but her CPA certificate at the first attempt. After graduation, Jing worked for several large US companies. But she did not settle for a comfortable middle class life. Instead, she chose to build her own independent career, literally by knocking on thousands of doors in Greater Chicago area, winning the trust of countless clients. In 2009, her long-cherished dream came true: she started her own investment and tax services company.

Jing was good with English from a young age. She even won a prize for English recitation in her city. But her real love was engineering and machinery. She dreamed of becoming an engineer. When she was placed in English Department in college on account of her good grade in English, she sobbed. She later admitted that was actually a lucky turn. It was her English skill that enabled her to adapt to the life of America quickly. She was able to complete her grueling course work and started a new life in a new country. Other than her own hard work, Jing also credits her success today to the generous help from countless people during her time of hardship. Today, she wishes to pay her gratitude by giving back to society. Throughout the years, she has been active in local and international charity work, fundraising for polio vaccination in South America and Africa. From 2001 to 2012, she taught in three different weekend Chinese schools in Chicago area, spreading Chinese language and culture in her new home. Since 2007, she has been offering free money management classes to American families, providing them with tools to financial success. Today, she lives in Chicago with her husband and two daughters.

Jim is the founder of Links. He and Jing were college classmates.
How they got together and started Links website is a very interesting story indeed. On June 3rd, 2013, Jim was watching the movie Chinese Partner in Himalaya Cinema in Shanghai. He was completely engrossed in the movie because he knew the venture story behind it. He even knew several people in the Special Features at the end of the movie. After the movie, he lingered at the cinema long after the audience filed out of the cinema, lost in thought. Finally as he was leaving, he slapped hard on the back of the seat, as if to emphasize something important in his mind. As soon as he got home, he called and recommended the movie to his friend Jing. Even though the two have been friends for decades, life has taken them in different directions. Their conversations had not been much more than chitchat before this. But this time, it was different. The two old friends had a long conversation across the Pacific. They chatted about life and work and everything in between. It went from work to partnership. In a matter of one day, the partnership agreement was signed! Thus, the website of Links was born! That was June 4th, 2013. In just a few months, Links grew from a team of 5 to 50 people. The team members come from over 20 cities in China and US. It is not an overstatement to say the Linkers are truly working “around the globe, around the clock”. And the interesting thing is: most of them have never met one another!

How Jim got into English is another interesting story. Being a soldier in his younger days, his English was not at all that impressive. He had wanted to study Chinese in college, but was assigned to English Department instead to make up the ratio for male English major students. In his first English class, the teacher asked him “What’s your name?” three times. And he did not understand any of it! The class roared with laughter. But Jim was the one that had the last laugh. A few years later, like Jing, he obtained his B.A. as well as M. A. in English language and literature, and became a college English teacher. Two years later, with ¥300 in his pocket, Jim quit his job at college. For the second time he personally experienced what “penniless” really meant. He even put on a paper boy jacket and sold newspapers on the streets. From a soldier to a college student, from a college teacher to doing menial work, from China to US, Jim continued his adventures in life. In 1999, he passed GMAT exam to study BiMBA and eventually received his MBA degree. At the end of 2000, he loved internet with so much passion that he, with impulse, bought Chinese portal website stocks offered on American stock market. It was in its stupefying total loss that he became a devoted disciple of Warren Buffet. In this period of loss and hesitation, he devoured Buffet’s works and those of Buffet’s teachers. In 2011, Jim took his family to Omaha, Nebraska to attend the annual shareholders’ meeting for Berkshire Hathaway. It was not just a trip of pilgrimage. For him, it was also a show of gratitude to his teacher. English language has not only furthered Jim in his career and studies, but also has provided him immense pleasure and assistance to his personal life. He was astounded to find that there was no Chinese translation of his favorite book “The Art of Virtue” by Benjamin Franklin. In his iPhone, he has thousands of hours of English recording, mostly stories by Garrison Keillor, the great American story teller. Looking back, Jim was glad he was “misplaced” in English Department. Every successful career choice, every academic achievement, every joy and enjoyment of his soul, every enrichment of his life, he credits to English.

Arguably, Jack Ma has greater payoff learning English than anyone else in China.
For 9 years during the 70’s, Jack Ma was in West Lake almost daily, volunteering himself as a guide to the American tourists. In the early days of Alibaba, when negotiating for funding with Masayoshi Son, Ma’s perfect American English was the deciding factor in Son’s decision to invest. In less than 10 minutes, Son agreed to invest 30 million dollars. He later upped that number to 40 million. Masayoshi Son himself left for California from Japan right out of high school, but still speaks English with a heavy Japanese accent. When he decided to invest in Jack Ma, he was probably thinking: if this dude could speak English the way he does without ever leaving China, what couldn’t he accomplish? Ma’s story also shows, besides having the right environment, perseverance and means are more important in mastering the language. Of course it is unrealistic to send 500 million people abroad to learn English. Even so, there is no guarantee we will learn it well. Equally impossible it is that we all cruise over to West Lake. Even if we do, neither is it guaranteed we will all learn the language well. The goal of Links website is to bring Ma’s West Lake to you, to allow you to bring out your inner Jack Ma: mastering the language without ever stepping out of the country.

In fact, Links123.com offers variours tools and activities to enrich your daily life. Links English Corner is only one of the treasures. To take control of your exciting life, access Links123.com now!

关于另客

我们发现,
地道的英文和高效的桌面是通向成功的捷径。
甚至可以不夸张地说,
她们本身就是美好生活的一部分。
另客英语让你告别聋哑英文,另客桌面让你成为高效的懒人。
为了分享,
我们每天都在努力----around the globe, around the clock!
我们是英语迷,我们是桌面控!
我们是一支云团队,成员来自中国和美国的十多个城市。

另客的故事
拿下另客英语,你就拿下了精彩人生的签证;
拥有另客桌面,你就拥有了精彩人生的导游。

Jing是另客网的首席合伙人。
像感人的美国电影Pursuit of Happiness里面的主角一样,她从身无分文、无家可归的穷学生做到拥有自己的资产管理公司。当年她去美国留学的时候,中国还在发展中,家里没有办法在经济上给她任何帮助,她带着仅有的五百美金和几乎满分的托福成绩,来到美国。在美国读书期间除了上课之外,她每天做三份工:图书馆管理员、大学助教和餐馆招待。有一次因为劳累过度,她开车时睡着了,遭遇车祸,手术时才发现既没有医疗保险,也没有钱。一次又一次的危机没有压垮她。凭着扎实的英文功底,她不仅拿到了MBA学位,还一次考过了注册会计师。毕业后,Jing先后在美国几家大公司任职,但她没有满足于衣食无忧的美国中产生活,而是开始了更精彩的创业生涯。她独自跑遍了大芝加哥地区,敲开了数以千计的门,赢得了客户们的信赖。2009年,她终于实现多年的梦想,创建了自己的投资和税务管理公司,从一个文弱贫困的中国留学生,成长为资产管理公司的掌门人。

Jing从小英文好,曾经获得过市级英文故事背诵奖,但她的梦想是要成为一名工程师,跟机器打交道。然而高考时,因为英文成绩好,她被录取到外语系,还为此痛哭一场。后来她自己说,当年幸亏是学了英文。因为有了扎实的英文功底,她才可以很快适应美国社会,完成学业,开始新生活。除了靠自己打拼外,Jing觉得她的今天跟很多人的无私帮助也是分不开的,许多不相识的人在她困难时给了她关心和帮助。今天,她最大的愿望就是为公众做力所能及的事,来报答社会。多年来,她花很多时间参加各种社区和国际性的公益活动,为南美和非洲国家普及小儿麻痹症疫苗做过各种大型募捐活动。此外,从2001到2012年,她一直在芝加哥近郊的三所中文学校任教,为传播中文和中国文化做出了贡献。从2007年至今,她还给美国普通家庭举办免费理财讲座,帮助他们建立财务管理系统和走上致富的道路。现在Jing和她的先生还有两个女儿居住在芝加哥北郊。

Jim是另客网的创始人,也是Jing的大学同窗。
说起两人的合作,还有一段趣事。2013年6月3号,Jim在上海喜马拉雅影院看中国合伙人,心情很不平静,因为他很熟悉电影背后的创业故事,就连片尾的真人秀里面也有几位老相识。散场后他没有马上起身,等观众渐渐稀落才不舍离去,临走前还在前排靠背上猛拍了一巴掌!回到家后他马上推荐Jing看这部片子。虽然是老同学,但毕业后各奔东西,偶尔联系也多半是相互问候一下。这一次很特别,两人从生活聊到工作,从工作聊到合作,竟然在短短的一两天内就签下了合作备忘录。那一天是2013年6月4号,对另客网来说这是一个值得纪念的日子。几个月后,另客网已经从当时5人的团队增加到50来人,而且是很酷的云团队,成员来自中国和美国的20几个城市。另客网的建设真正做到了around the globe, around the clock。神奇的是,大家几乎都没见过面呢。

Jim跟英文也有一段奇特的缘分。大兵出身的他英文不好,高考报的是中文专业,却意外被录取到英文系,只因英文专业男生太少。第一堂课老师问他:What's your name?  问了三遍他都没听懂,全班哄堂大笑。几年后,他跟Jing先后拿到了英美语言文学的学士和硕士,都站上了大学英文专业的讲台。两年后他又怀揣300元下海,两度亲身体验了成语 ’身无分文’ 的滋味,找不到工作时还穿着白大褂在街上卖过报纸。从当兵到读书、教书、打工、创业,从中国到美国,他继续书写着自己的历险记。1999年,他通过了GMAT考试,入读BiMBA,断断续续修满了学分,拿到了美国MBA。2000年底,他出于对互联网的激情,冲动地买入了在美国上市的中国门户网股票,其后在断崖般的亏损中迷上了巴菲特,在彷徨中细读了他和他的老师的全部原著。2011年Jim携家人前往奥马哈,亲历了巴菲特掌舵40多年的伯克希尔·哈撒韦的股东盛会,是朝圣也是感恩。不仅在学习和工作上,在生活上英文也给他带来了莫大的帮助和乐趣。他最为推崇的书是关于本杰明·富兰克林的“The Art of Virtue”,然而如此伟大的著作竟然没有中文版。他的iPhone里面装了上千小时的音频,大部分是口头文学大师Garrison Keillor的故事。他觉得自己很幸运,没有错过英文,因为错过了英文不仅会错过学业和职业的选择,也会错过更精彩的生活方式和心灵享受。

中国最大的英文受益者大概是马云。
70年代他几乎天天早上跑西湖,给美国游客当义务导游,竟然坚持了9年!阿里巴巴创业之初他找到软银的掌门人孙正义要钱,一口地道的美语就把对方征服了,因为孙正义高中就去加州留学,到现在还是一口日式英文。孙正义不到10分钟就答应投3000万美元,后来又追加到4000万。他或许心想,这小个子关在中国也能把英文说成这样,还有啥事办不成的呢?可见英文的真功夫不仅要有环境,更要有方法和恒心。让5亿人出国学英文是不现实的,也未必能学好,让大家都跑到杭州西湖去也是不现实的,而且同样未必管用。另客英语就是要把马云的英文西湖搬到网上,让大家有机会像马云一样,不出国门也能学好英文。

其实另客英语只是另客桌面的宝贝之一。
也想拥有自己的精彩人生?那就不要错过另客网!